HB Secondary Schools Sports Awards 2016

HB Secondary Schools Sports Awards 2016


Briana Stephenson was named Secondary School Sports Person of the Year at the awards ceremony on Monday 31 October. Brianna also won best netball player of the year, best female sportsperson and won the supreme award. Brianna was part of the New Zealand Secondary School Girls’ netball team that won the international tournament. She also competed in athletics at the national and international level gaining three golds at the Australian junior champs in high jump, long jump and four by one hundred relay and bronze in 100 metres.

Four days after Briana Stephenson won the Hawke’s Bay Secondary Schools Supreme Sportsperson of the Year for 2016, she also won the Junior Female Sportsperson of the Year 2016 award in Central Hawke’s Bay.

Congratulations to Laina Samia who was awarded Volleyball Player of the Year. She was captain of the New Zealand Junior Woman’s Development team that competed in Australia.

Congratulations to Rosalia Samia who was awarded Female Basketball Player of the Year. Rosalia represented New Zealand in the U16 Girls basketball team. She was also selected to represent and captain the North Island U17 Girls volleyball team.

Congratulations to Grace Gibson who was awarded Female Hockey Player of the Year. Grace was a member of the Central Districts Under 18 and 21 teams and she was the captain of the Queensland Challenge Team. She has also gained a scholarship to St Frances University in the USA.

Well done to the following students who were finalists:

Lily Verhoeven: Tennis Player of the Year

Brianna Stephenson: Female Athletics Athlete of the Year

Mahia Isherwood and Rosalia Samia: Female Basketball Player of the Year

Kayla Fromont and Grace Gibson: Female Hockey Player of the Year

Brianna Stephenson and Jaydi Taylor-Chaffey: Netball Player of the Year

Renee Karaitiana: Female Touch Player of the Year

Laina Samia and Rosalia Samia: Volleyball Player of the Year

Teilah Ferguson: Female Rugby Player of the Year

Carolyne Nel: Female Sportsperson of the Year

Kate McKelvie – Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Orienteering Team – Team of the Year